CE Mark

The letters “CE” are the abbreviation of French phrase “Conformité Européene” which literally means “European Conformity”. 

 “CE Marking” now used by all EU official documents.

CE Marking is a declaration that a product has been tested to comply with the essential requirements of the relevant European health, safety and environmental protection legislation.

CE Marking is also known as Conformité Européenne, which means European Conformity. It indicates to governmental officials that the product may be legally placed on the market in their country.

CE Marking on a product allows consumers to move freely within an expanding market comprising the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and 32 countries in the European Union (EU).

CE Marking on a product allows for the withdrawal of non-compliant products, as well as their destruction under EEA customs and enforcement/vigilance authorities.

Principles of CE Marking

CE marking must be displayed as specified by an EU directive.

The CE Marking only has the legal value as provided for by specific Community harmonisation legislation, and cannot therefore be applied to any other product.

By affixing CE marking, the manufacturer indicates that he takes responsibility for making sure that his product conforms to all applicable standards.

The CE mark must be the only marking which attests to your product’s compliance with applicable community regulations, ruling all others invalid.

Sellers should make it clear to customers by supplying explanatory materials or stating on the packaging or in promotional material whether the product was made in the UK. Additionally, sellers should state whether there are any parts (including raw materials) that originate from other EU member states.

Countries that are currently following CE Marking:

Total 30 EEA countries.

There were the 15 European Union (EU) member countries before May 1, 2004: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Luxemburg, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden, Spain and United Kingdom (Great Britain) plus the European Free Trade Association – EFTA’s 3 member states: Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland.

Following 10 new states joined the EU on May1, 2004 and they also adopted the CE-Marking.
Estonia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovenia, Slovakia, Malta, Latvia, and Cyprus.

Romania and Bulgaria joined the EU and adopted the CE-Marking requirements Since January 1, 2007,